Open all year round

Today: 09:30 - 17:00

History 

1965

Erwin Meier was able, with the help of his family, to achieve his dream of creating a zoo which was almost exclusively dedicated to the local fauna in order to raise awareness and respect among the public for our wildlife. Located near Nyon, in Le Vaud, the 6'100 m2 park was a refuge and care centre for large numbers of wounded wild animals, non-native species and domestic animals whose owners could no longer care for them.

1972

La Garenne is the first Swiss institution to contribute to the major European project to reintroduce the Bearded vulture in the Alps. It was a female born in the zoo and released in 1989 that raised the first chick hatched in the wild since the species became extinct in the Alps in 1913.

1975

The association « Amis de la Garenne » (ADAG) was founded to provide financial support to La Garenne.

1977

La Garenne is officially recognised as a public-interest organisation thanks to its education mission as well as its role in conserving European wildlife.

1998

The Foundation was established to ensure the long-term viability of the zoological park. The Foundation Board’s current members are delegates from the Regional council of the Nyon district, the Municipality of Le Vaud and major stakeholders of political, economical and scientific domains as well as representatives of ADAG. 

2004

40 years after it was first opened, the aging park needed to be restored in order to improve the environment for the animals and offer better facilities for the visitors. The Foundation initiated a project to develop a new park with a high standard of quality in all areas: for the fauna and flora, visitor reception, the construction and operation of the buildings, services and products offered by the restaurant and the shop, as well as the staff. 

2010-2012

The building permit and zoning authorisation were granted, thus officially changing the existing agricultural plot into an area of public interest.

2014

In April, with the political, technical and financial support of dozens of people and institutions, the construction of the new park was launched, with a total budget of CHF 14.5 million. The funding model was based on a public-private partnership. The Bertarelli Foundation was the main contributor, followed by the MAVA and OAK foundations and the « Loterie Romande ».

2016

The new park opened on schedule in March 2016 on a 3-hectare site. The new facilities enable the Foundation to better fulfil its missions. The park focuses primarily on Swiss fauna, wild and domestic, and on the principle that people are more likely to respect that which they are familiar with. The new facilities are home to a Care centre for wild animals, a 120m2 room where school classes can take part in educational activities, a restaurant and a playground where visitors can enjoy leisure time with their families.


Historique

Die Geschichte von La Garenne

La Garenne und seine Missionen existieren seit mehr als 50 Jahren.

1965

Erwin Meier, umgeben von seiner Familie, verwirklichte seinen Traum, indem er einen kleinen Tierpark schuf, der hauptsächlich der lokalen Wildtieren vorbehalten war, um Sie bekannt zu machen und alle dazu zu bringen, sie zu respektieren. Der 6.100 m2 grosse Park in der Region Nyon in Le Vaud war ein Zufluchtsort und ein Pflegezentrum für viele behinderte Wildarten, aber auch für exotische Tiere und Haustiere, deren Besitzer sich nicht mehr darum kümmern konnten.

1972

La Garenne ist der erste Ort in der Schweiz, der sich an dem grossen europäischen Projekt zur Wiederansiedlung des Bartgeiers in den Alpen beteiligt. Ein im Tierpark geborenes und 1989 freigelassenes Weibchen zieht die ersten freilebenden Jungen auf, seit die Art 1913 in den Alpen verschwand.

1975

Die Vereinigung der Freunde von La Garenne (ADAG) wurde gegründet, um La Garenne finanziell zu unterstützen.

1977

Dank seiner pädagogischen Rolle und des Schutzes der europäischen Fauna ist La Garenne offiziell als gemeinnützig anerkannt.

1998

Die Stiftung wurde gegründet, um die Nachhaltigkeit des Tierparks zu gewährleisten. Der derzeitige Stiftungsrat setzt sich aus Delegierten des Regionalrats des Distrikts Nyon, der Gemeinde Le Vaud, der wichtigen Vertreter der wirtschaftlichen, politischen und wissenschaftlichen Welt sowie der ADAG zusammen.

2004

40 Jahre nach seiner Gründung und um seine Nachhaltigkeit zu sichern, musste der in die Jahre gekommene Park restauriert werden, um eine neue Umgebung für die Tiere und ein besseres Angebot für die Besucher zu schaffen. Die Stiftung initiierte die Entwicklung eines Projekts für einen neuen Park mit einem Qualitätsanspruch auf allen Ebenen, für die Tiere und die Pflanzen, den Empfang der Besucher, den Bau und den Betrieb der Gebäude, die Dienstleistungen und Produkte des Restaurants und des Shops sowie das Personal. 

2010-2012

Erhalt der Baugenehmigung und des Zonenplans für La Garenne, wodurch das vorhandene landwirtschaftliche Land in eine Zone von öffentlichem Interesse umgewandelt wird.

2014

Bei Gesamtkosten von 14,5 Millionen Franken wurde im April dank der politischen, technischen und finanziellen Unterstützung von Dutzenden von Personen und Institutionen mit dem Bau des neuen Parks begonnen. Die Finanzierung des Projekts erfolgte auf Basis einer öffentlich-privaten Partnerschaft. Der grösste Beitrag leistete die Bertarelli-Stiftung, gefolgt von den Stiftungen MAVA, OAK und La Loterie Romande.

2016

Der neue Park wird planmässig im März 2016 auf einer Fläche von 3 Hektar eröffnet. Die neue Struktur ermöglicht es, die Aufgaben der Stiftung besser zu erfüllen. Er konzentriert sich auf einheimische Schweizer Wild- oder Haustiere und das Prinzip, dass wir das, was wir kennen, besser respektieren. Die neuen Gebäude beherbergen ein Pflegezentrum für wilde Tiere, ein 120 m2 grosses Zimmer bietet Platz für Unterrichtsaktivitäten, ein Restaurant und Spielbereiche, die den Besuchern Momente der Entspannung mit der Familie bieten.